TL;DR
Get furniture and decor delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
AT&T has added Gemini for Home features to its Connected Life security system, including natural-language searches of recorded camera footage and daily activity summaries. The features require AT&T’s professional monitoring plan, which costs $29.99 per month; AT&T also added proximity-based arming and disarming.
AT&T Connected Life now works with Gemini for Home, adding AI-assisted descriptions of security-camera events, natural-language searches of recorded video and daily home-activity summaries. The features are available only to customers on AT&T’s $29.99-per-month professional monitoring plan, according to the company’s announcement as reported by The Verge. For a broader look at camera-equipped options, see smart home security systems with cameras.
With the integration, Gemini can describe events recorded by a customer’s security cameras in greater detail. AT&T says the system can provide information such as who delivered a package and how many items the person left. The feature is intended to make camera recordings easier to review than by manually scanning clips, though the source report does not describe how the system handles uncertain identifications or errors.
Customers can also ask questions in ordinary language to search recorded footage. Examples cited in the report include “What dug up the yard last night?” and “Who let the dogs out?” Customers can review daily summaries of activity both inside and outside the home. These capabilities depend on recorded camera footage and are not described as a live monitoring service. Other app-controlled security systems offer a different way to manage home security.
Separately, AT&T is adding an option to automatically arm or disarm the system based on a customer’s proximity to home. The source material does not specify how close a person must be, whether the feature is configurable, or what happens if location information is unavailable. AT&T’s Connected Life system is a partnership with Google and Abode.
AI Search Changes Camera Review
The update gives Connected Life subscribers another way to find relevant moments in a camera archive: they can describe what they are looking for rather than browse recordings one by one. That could make routine checks—such as confirming a delivery or looking for an animal in the yard—less time-consuming. The usefulness will depend on how accurately Gemini interprets the footage and the customer’s question, details not established in the source report.
The paid-plan restriction is a material limit. Gemini-powered video features are not presented as part of every Connected Life subscription; customers need the professional monitoring plan at $29.99 a month. The proximity-based arming option adds a separate convenience feature, but the report does not say whether it is subject to the same plan requirement or available across all system configurations.
Products Worth Considering

Philips Hue Festavia 130-Foot Indoor/Outdoor Smart String Lights, 500 Color-Changing LEDs

Ring Alarm 5-Piece Wireless Security System

eufy Security Essential 7-Piece Alarm System
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Connected Life’s Google Partnership
AT&T launched Connected Life last December in partnership with Google and Abode. The new integration uses Google’s Gemini-powered Home APIs, which let smart-home brands and developers build AI features into their products, according to the source report.
AT&T describes Connected Life as the first home security product to integrate with Google Home Premium. That is the company’s characterization, not an independently established comparison in the supplied material. The report also says ADT has hinted at bringing Gemini for Home features to its security systems, but gives no launch date or confirmed feature list for ADT.
“Connected Life is the “first” home security product to integrate with Google Home Premium.”
— AT&T, as described in The Verge report
Pricing, Accuracy and Availability
The supplied information does not specify when the integration reaches all eligible customers, which camera models or system setups support it, or whether subscribers need to take additional steps to enable the features. It also does not explain how long recordings or daily summaries remain available.
Other open questions include the accuracy of event descriptions and search results, how the system treats ambiguous footage, and whether customers can review or correct its interpretations. The report identifies the $29.99 monthly professional monitoring plan as the eligibility requirement but does not clarify whether taxes, equipment costs or other fees apply. Details about the proximity feature’s settings and plan eligibility are also absent.
Watch for Rollout Details
The next practical development is for AT&T to clarify rollout timing, supported equipment and setup requirements for Connected Life customers. Subscribers considering the features may also want confirmation of the full monthly cost and whether the proximity-based controls are included in their plan.
The source material provides no schedule for further Gemini features or for ADT’s possible integration. Until companies publish those details, the confirmed scope is limited to AT&T’s camera-event descriptions, natural-language video search, daily activity summaries and proximity-based arming or disarming.
Key Questions
What does Gemini for Home add to AT&T Connected Life?
It adds descriptions of camera events, natural-language searches of recorded footage and daily summaries of activity inside and outside the home.
How much does the eligible AT&T plan cost?
The features require AT&T’s professional Connected Life monitoring plan, priced at $29.99 per month, according to the source report. Other possible charges were not detailed.
Can customers search video with ordinary questions?
Yes. The report says subscribers can use natural-language questions to search recordings, with examples including asking what dug up the yard or who let the dogs out.
What is the new proximity feature?
AT&T is adding the ability to automatically arm or disarm the system based on proximity to home. The report does not provide distance settings or explain which plans include it.
When will the features be available to customers?
The supplied report does not give a rollout schedule or say whether the integration is already available to every eligible subscriber.
Source: theverge.com
