TL;DR
Get furniture and decor delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Apple and LG announced a smart-home security lineup that includes a smart lock and four cameras, marking a wider push into home security. The devices are designed for Apple Home, but several details remain open, including costs for camera recognition features, local storage capacity and how facial recognition will be handled.
Apple and LG announced a smart lock and four security cameras for Apple’s Home platform at Tuesday’s Welcome Home event, broadening Apple’s move into home security. The lineup includes devices priced from $199.95 to $399.95, but key details about subscriptions, storage and facial recognition remain unresolved.
The products are part of an Apple Home accessories collection developed with LG Electronics and Schneider Electric. The smart lock, made with LG, is listed at $349.95 and has a circular keypad that can be twisted for manual unlocking. Apple has not fully detailed its features. The source report says it is expected to support Apple Home Keys and auto-unlocking, and that the lock supports both Matter and Aliro. Matter compatibility allows it to connect with other major smart-home platforms, including Amazon Alexa and Google Home, while Aliro is intended to support digital-wallet access, including Samsung Wallet.
The camera range includes a $249.95 video doorbell, a $399.95 wired floodlight camera, a $199.95 indoor camera and a $299.95 outdoor camera, part of a broader range of smart home security systems with cameras. All are listed with 2.5K resolution. The doorbell has two cameras, one for a broader view of the front yard and another aimed at the porch. Apple says the indoor camera can adjust its view when someone looks through it and lower itself when residents return home.
Apple says the cameras can identify people, pets, vehicles, packages and familiar faces, and can be viewed on devices such as iPhones, Apple TVs and the new HomeView smart display. Siri AI is also expected to describe video and answer questions about footage. The source report says use of these features will require an iCloud Plus plan, but Apple had not disclosed the added cost. The plan includes 10 days of video storage, while the cameras also have some local backup storage whose capacity Apple has not specified.
Apple Expands Into Home Security
The announcement gives Apple customers a more connected set of security devices designed for Apple Home, rather than relying only on separate accessories from other brands. The lock and cameras can be managed through familiar Apple devices, and the reported Siri video tools could make it easier for users to review events without searching through footage manually.
The lineup also reaches beyond Apple’s own ecosystem. Matter support on the lock could allow households using Alexa or Google Home to include it in their setup, while Aliro support points to digital-wallet access. Whether these features work smoothly across platforms, and how much the cameras cost to use over time, will affect the products’ appeal beyond existing Apple users.
Prices put the products in a market where buyers can compare them with established security brands. The most expensive item listed is the floodlight camera at $399.95. Those upfront prices do not show the full cost, because Apple has not announced the subscription pricing attached to camera features.
Products Worth Considering

Ring Floodlight Cam 2K Wired Security Camera, 3-Pack, Black

Philips Hue Secure Wired Video Doorbell, 2K, Black

Ring Outdoor Cam 4K Plus Battery Security Camera, 3-Pack, White
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From Small Partnerships to a Lineup
Apple has previously taken a limited approach to the smart-home market, according to the CNET report, including smaller partnerships such as an LG Circle security camera. The new announcement represents a broader collaboration with LG, spanning a smart lock, video doorbell and three other cameras, alongside Apple’s HomeView display.
The products reflect a strategy of combining Apple Home software and devices with hardware developed alongside established manufacturers. Apple hardware engineering vice president Matthew Costello said the accessories were designed with LG Electronics and Schneider Electric to work with Apple Home. CNET’s report described the designs as prioritizing ease of use and quick setup, while also noting that some features and practical details have yet to be tested.
“Apple Home Collection makes it easy to choose smart home accessories with confidence.”
— Matthew Costello, Apple’s vice president of hardware engineering, in the announcement cited by CNET
Subscription and Privacy Questions
Apple had not disclosed how much the required iCloud Plus plan will cost for the camera functions, or whether a customer’s existing plan will cover them. The report also says Apple has not specified the capacity of the cameras’ local storage, leaving buyers without a clear picture of how much footage can be saved if cloud access is unavailable.
The use of familiar-face recognition raises additional questions. The feature can identify and label people, including visitors, but the source report notes that some states and cities have restricted facial recognition and that lawsuits involving rival security-camera companies are underway. Apple says Home app data is end-to-end encrypted and that footage is processed locally on an Apple Home hub or through Private Cloud Compute, while also being stored in iCloud. The source material does not provide enough detail to establish how every data flow works or how the feature will be made available in places with restrictions.
Product availability dates, full technical specifications and hands-on performance are also not established in the supplied report. Claims about automatic camera movement, Siri descriptions and cross-platform operation will need to be assessed against finished products.
Pricing and Product Tests Ahead
The next useful information from Apple will be release dates, subscription pricing and complete product specifications. Those details will help clarify the total cost of operating the cameras and whether the stated 10-day video history is sufficient for households with several devices.
Independent testing will also show how reliably the cameras identify people and packages, how the indoor camera’s privacy behavior works in practice, and whether Siri’s video answers are useful. Buyers and local authorities will be watching how Apple implements facial recognition and data processing, particularly where laws restrict biometric identification. Until those details are available, the announcement establishes Apple’s expanded product range, not how well the system will perform or what it will cost over time.
Key Questions
What did Apple and LG announce?
They announced an Apple Home smart lock and four security cameras: a video doorbell, floodlight camera, indoor camera and outdoor camera.
How much do the announced products cost?
The listed prices range from $199.95 for the indoor camera to $399.95 for the wired floodlight camera. The video doorbell is $249.95, the outdoor camera is $299.95 and the smart lock is $349.95.
Will the smart lock work with non-Apple systems?
The source report says the lock supports Matter, which allows it to work with platforms including Amazon Alexa and Google Home. It also lists Aliro compatibility for digital-wallet access. Full compatibility details were not provided.
Do the cameras require a subscription?
Apple says an iCloud Plus plan will be required for camera features, including 10 days of video storage. The price and any plan-specific conditions were not disclosed in the report.
What remains unclear about facial recognition?
Apple says Home app data is end-to-end encrypted and footage is processed locally on a Home hub or through Private Cloud Compute. The supplied report does not spell out every data-handling detail, the local storage capacity or how availability will vary in areas with facial-recognition restrictions.
Source: rss
